Niraj Bhatt – Architect's Blog

Ruminations on .NET, Architecture & Design

Gearing up for Tech Ed India 2009

I haven’t been blogging much lately, mainly due to my upcoming talks at next Tech Ed. It’s happening again in India, after a gap of 2 years (last one was in 2006). If you are there, make sure to attend my talks. I will outline the motivation behind these talks in this post:

Refactoring – SOAP To REST : For me SOAP/RPC with surrounding standards is a classic case of over engineering. Unfortunately, it was the de facto standard of building web services on Microsoft Platform for quite some time. It’s quite possible that once you have realized the benefits of REST and see it fitting your bill, you may want to refactor your SOAP Service to a REST Service. I took the word Refactoring from Martin Fowler’s classic book meaning – “behavior preserving transformations”, which is the intention here. Moreover there were lot of sessions done at PDC / MIX on REST but there wasn’t any exclusive focus on this one (though to be honest I owe my talk to all of them🙂 ). A reasonable understanding of WCF is a prerequisite to attend this talk. (Timing: May 14th 2009, 11:00 – 12:15 IST)

Federated Identity Architectures: I am excited a lot about this talk. Firstly, I am doing a combo session with Ramnish Singh (infact my first combo ever🙂 ). Ramnish is a certified Security Architect working for Microsoft with an amazing amount of passion and knowledge. Secondly, I have been hit by ‘Federated’ term a couple of times during my sessions on Building Secure Web Services using WCF but I couldn’t touch it in its entirety due to time constraints. We have some cool demos lined up, covering a wide range of business scenarios also showcasing Geneva. (Timing: May 15th 2009, 12:00 – 13:45 IST)

Hope you will find the above 2 exciting enough, to storm my session hall😀 . Keep watching this space for slides & demo downloads.

One response to “Gearing up for Tech Ed India 2009

  1. Pingback: Username Authentication over basicHttpBinding with WCF’s ChannelFactory Interface « Niraj Bhatt – Architect’s Blog

Leave a Reply

